Boldly Go   Leave a comment


Image provided by comicvine.com

Image provided by comicvine.com

I grew up watching episodes of the TV series, Star Trek.  As I was pondering what thoughts to share, the opening declaration of the mission for the U.S.S. Enterprise came into my mind:

Space: the final frontier. These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise. Its five-year mission: to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life and new civilizations, to boldly go where no man has gone before.

I think that the reason this came into my mind is because lately I have been giving a lot of thought to what it means to be a leader and person living in these times.  First, let me say that I do not think we are that unique in having to live in changing times.  Yes, there is some uniqueness regarding the particulars of the changes during our time but this is not the first time there have been significant societal shifts.

As I ponder these words from a 1960’s television series, I am drawn to the final words in the statement, “to boldly go where no man (sic) has gone before.”  I would naturally change it to say “where no one has gone before.”  The key here for me is “to boldly go.”  So many people just allow the time and the changes to take them along.  However, I think it is important to change the way we maneuver through these times.  I think that we need to have the courage to go boldly into these changing times.

For me, the only way that I can obtain that courage is to realize where my hope and confidence finds its source….. the Lord.  I believe that the Lord is more than capable of handling whatever changes take place.  I believe that my strength, courage, and ability comes directly from the Lord.  I believe that my only true hope is found in the Lord.  So with these beliefs, I strive to boldly go where others may not have gone.

Leave a Reply

