Archive for October 16, 2012

Trust Risk   2 comments


Trust (Low album)

Trust  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The writer of the Gospel of Luke tells the story of Jesus walking through a crowd and a woman who had spent years suffering from hemorrhages touched the edge of Jesus’ robe.  Upon touching his robe, the hemorrhaging stopped and Jesus noticed. (See Luke 8:40-48)  After a brief conversation with the woman, Jesus made a statement that resonated with me this morning.  In Eugene Peterson‘s translation of the Bible Jesus’ words are:  “Daughter, you took a risk trusting me, and now you’re healed and whole.  Live well, live blessed!”

I was struck with the idea of taking a risk to trust Jesus.  At first, I wondered what was the risk in trusting Jesus.  I could talk about the cultural risk that the woman took but that was not where I was being led in my thoughts.  I began thinking about the times that I tend not to trust the Lord.  Why don’t I trust during those times?  The reason is that in order to trust, I have to be willing to relinquish some of my control and I have to be dependent on the Lord.  Since my life, like many of yours, has had plenty of experiences when trusting in someone or something has turned out to be a huge mistake, relinquishing control and being dependent is not an easy step.  It truly does involve taking a risk.  Stepping out in faith to believe that by relying on the Lord, I will not have a catastrophic fall.

In the story of the woman, Jesus’ words spoke to me.  He invites me to take the risk.  The reason for taking that risk is because when I trust in the Lord, I will find healing and wholeness.  While it may take a little time and I may struggle to see how it is possible, Jesus makes the promise that it is possible.  Jesus reminds me in the words he shares with the woman which is his desire for me is to live well and to live blessed.

Making the commitment to trust in the Lord and take that risk has to happen on a daily basis.  Some days it has to happen for me multiple times.  So today, I renew my commitment to take the risk of trusting in the Lord.  I do this because I believe in the promise that Jesus makes which is, if I trust in the Lord, I will find healing and wholeness.